New home in the Second City

11 02 2010

“My kind of town,
Chicago is my kind of town,
Chicago is my kind of razzmatazz
And it has all that jazz.”

If you couldn’t tell from the above, I have packed up and moved to the Windy City.  I am now working with Great Lakes Marketing Group in conjunction with the American Sail Training Association (ASTA) to promote and strategically plan the Great Lakes United Tall Ships Challenge 2010.  The GLU Tall Ships Challenge 2010 is a series of port festivals across the Great Lakes in up to 10 different ports.  There will be 25-30 Tall Ships in the Great Lakes this summer making their rounds the various ports.  Working and living in Chicago, my focus is on the Pepsi Tall Ships Challenge 2010 event that will take place at Navy Pier (downtown Chicago) from August 24th-29th.  It will be a grand event that will start with the “Parade of Sail” on the 24th, where all 20-22 ships will come into to dock with their sails at full mast.  There will be fireworks every night and we are expecting 1-2 million visitors over the course of the event.

I am also working very closely with the Tall Ship Windy and Red Witch (Chicago’s official Tall Ships) to plan and execute their 2010 marketing and advertising plan.  This year, Tall Ship Windy and Red Witch will be brought together under the umbrella “Tall Ship Adventures of Chicago”.  I am working closely with Captain Bruce Randall to initiate a strategic branding campaign. I’ll have a ton of responsibility but it’s going to be fun.

Chi-City!

Aside from work, I am getting use to living life in Chicago.  I’ve never lived in big city before (unless you count Hamburg), so I’m adjusting to the hustle and bustle.  I’m living in very interesting and diverse area of the city.  I live in Lakeview on the edge of Wrigleyville and neighboring Boystown.  There are tons of cool bars, local restaurants, and interesting shops and theaters.  We are in the dead of winter right now (foot of snow the other day), so I am really looking forward to the summer.  It will be nice to be away from Florida’s harsh summers as well, living a block from Lake Michigan will also be very cool.

Actions

Information




