Getting into European shape

7 07 2009

Today I was up bright and early for class at 9am but it was worth it.  We were doing this exercise when the teacher brought in a bunch of “Bionade” for us all.  It’s this organic, trendy European drink that I personally think tastes like ass.  All of a sudden she said to stop what we were doing and to create an intuitive planning brief for the product if it was entering Poland and she wanted it in 30 minutes.  At first I almost crapped my pants but it turned out to be a really cool exercise and practice at what I would be doing in the actual industry.  This is something I never did at UF.  I’m really thinking I’m going to like this program because it is all hands-on practice for the actual job as opposed to a lot of memorization and theory that was most of the UF curriculum (except for Campaigns).

After class let out early around 12:30, I went to eat lunch with some people from the class at this Turkish restaurant.  There were five of us, all from different backgrounds internationally which was really cool.  Lunch was pretty darn delicious and after finishing some school work up I headed home.

Shortly after getting home I realized if I’m going to be in Europe for 3+ months, I should start acting like one.  I went to the park near my house and ran as far as I could before I gave out…I’ve really gotten out of shape.  The American lifestyle of drinking beer all night and eating fast food everyday has caught up to me.  BUT, I’m realizing why Americans are “fatter” than Europeans….and it’s actually really simple.  It’s not because we are lazy or we have an aversion to exercise; it’s simply because it would be way too expensive to get fat in Europe.  The food here is RIDICOUSLY expensive.  For example, I went to Subway the other day and got a six inch turkey with a small drink…in America it would be $4…at the most.  Here it was almost 7 Euros or almost $10!!!  No wonder Europeans are skinny…they have to choose between living inside and eating!