A Change in the Weather

29 07 2009

When I awoke from my hibernation on Sunday, it was still raining.  However the weather started to clear up as the day went on so I had to take advantage of it.  I met up with Jon and Johan for dinner and we went to this place called “Kleine Pause”.  It’s a burger place in St. Pauli that serves burgers bigger than most places in the states…I was quite surprised.  After dinner, I called Justin and he was kicking the soccer ball around with his neighbor, a really cool German guy named Ollie.  They were playing in the Platen un Blomen, which is right in St. Pauli so we headed over there to try to work off our burgers.  We ended up playing 4-on-4 soccer with some local kids and I actually scored the only two goals…who would have known Americans don’t suck at soccer…we’re just too cool for it J  After we finished up with soccer, we decided to go to the bar and have a beer which turned into 2 or 3 and then we headed home for the night.

On Monday, my group was supposed to go the Bremen again to do more research, but when we got to the train station, we realized the tickets were way too expensive, so we decided to go another day with more people and get a group rate.  I went to school to do some work and write some emails when I realized how beautiful it was outside.  I immediately packed up my stuff and headed to the park.  I actually bought new batteries for my camera, but they were the cheap, European kind and they only took 3 pictures and died.  I sat in the park for a couple hours, doing homework, and enjoyed the beautiful weather.  For those Floridians, if you leave Florida, you will realize we really take sunny days for granted.  I won’t make that mistake while I’m here.

Creek at Platen un Blomen

Creek at Platen un Blomen

Some kind of WW2 Memorial at the Park

Some kind of WW2 Memorial at the Park

After a couple phone calls from Samentha and Jon, we decided to meet up at the other park by my house and have some beers.  Johan came along as well and we all sat in the beer garden in the middle of the park and had a good time.  We also walked around the park and played on all the playground stuff including an awesome zip-line!  We need those at every playground in the States.  We ended up at Johan and Sam’s place and called it a night after that.

Weissbier es gut!!!

Weissbier es gut!!!

Tuesday morning has been quite dreaded throughout our class ever since we got the schedules.  We had a 8-hour class scheduled from a guy that’s from an agency no one has ever heard of.  Well, it actually went really great.  His name is George Shepherd and he’s a planning consultant based out of the UK and he taught us a lot of new approaches to planning.  We worked on our GAK project and really made some progress.  All in all, it was a very productive day. However, now I’m exhausted so I’m going to wrap this one up early.  More to come soon!