Crazy old lady!!

21 07 2009

Beware: This post is mostly me ranting about my living situation.

I must preface this post by stating I have never really had a bad living situation.  I’ve had landlords try to screw me financially but I have always had a good time and been comfortable everywhere I have lived.  Maybe this is karma for my past roommate luck.

So I live with this crazy old lady that I have recently started calling “ze Nazi” (not to her face, of course).  I was uneasy about her from day 1 when during my tour of the flat, she introduced me to her cat like it was a person.  Since then, many situations have come and gone with me just shrugging it off, but now I must rant to the world (or the 2-3 people who read this).  My first problem with her was that she banged on my door one morning while I was getting dressed to tell me I got her towels wet in the bathroom.  This may be a valid annoyance, BUT, the damn lady has shelves in her bathtub area with her towels on them.  In order to not get them wet, you either have to sit down, or shower in the corner which I have started doing (which isn’t fun).  Also, she likes to go on midnight walks through the apartment.  It’s an old apartment with creaky, wooden floors and it sounds like she just walks up and down the hallway to get tired…or maybe she keeps forgetting something…I don’t know, but it’s weird!

Last night really bothered me.  Simon is coming tomorrow night and I’m really looking forward to it; I told him he could sleep on the sofa in my room because I figured it wouldn’t be a big deal.  When I ran it by her, she said she wouldn’t feel comfortable and I said “OK” (but I was really annoyed).  Since then she’s been acting really weird.  Today when I left she asked me to keep my curtains open in my room (she has never asked me this before…maybe she wants to look in from outside to make sure no one is in there…I don’t know) and now I have just come home to see that the 3 or 4 sets of spare keys that are usually by the door are all gone…this woman is sooo paranoid and crazy!  Maybe she doesn’t trust Americans since WW2, but whatever it is, it’s annoying!

Ugghh!  Well enough of that, back to talking about the good parts of Hamburg.  On Saturday night, I met up with Justin and Matt and we went over the Jon’s to meet up with some other Miami Ad School kids.  From there we went to a bar that was doing a charity event.  It was 5 Euro and it was full of urban art that was all pretty cool.  I forgot to bring my camera (which is becoming a common problem for me) so no pics this time.  There were also a few DJ’s playing throughout the night and it was a really great time.

Sunday morning was rainy and cold outside so I stayed in bed and watched “Taken” on my computer and it was awesome!  Great movie but probably not the best movie to watch while you’re in Europe.  After that I went to do my laundry (which costs an arm and a leg btw) then met up with Joe for dinner.  We went to this burrito place in the Schanze.  For those familiar with my Chipotle/Moe’s obsession, this was the perfect “home-sick” remedy for me.  These burritos are bigger than “Home Wreckers” from Moe’s and spicier than the spiciest hot sauce at Tijuana Flats, but sooo good.  I had to drink 2 beers just to get through the spiciness.

Today I had class and group meetings pretty much all day and then we had a guest speaker from “Spotify.com” (http://www.spotify.com/en/).  It’s this really cool music streaming site that puts Pandora, Rhapsody, and the rest to shame.  Unfortunately, it’s only available in certain countries in Europe, so I will only get to use it for a couple months.  AND, we have class tomorrow at 8:30 AM (that’s 2:30am for readers across the pond), so I need to wrap this up and go to bed.  I feel like as time goes on, I will be spending more and more time at school so I won’t have to deal with “ze Nazi” (which is ok because I really like it there) but still.