My first day in Hamburg/Germany/Europe!

3 07 2009

The beginning of my trip started shaky just like my last international trip to Kenya.  When I arrived to Kenya I was taken down the worst streets with houses on fire, people carrying AK’s, and others lying in the street (I’m not exaggerating).  When I got to Hamburg, it definitely wasn’t as extreme as Kenya (not even close) but I was instantly hit with an uneasy feeling.

I arrived to my apartment that I thought I would sharing with 3 other people my age but it turned out it is just me with a little old lady, Ms. Deeken and her cat, Leo.  After I unpacked my stuff, I planned on walking down to the school to see how far it was as well as see some of the sights.  It turned out it was pretty far and when I finally reached the school after 45 minutes of walking in 85 degree weather (one of the hottest days of the year in Hamburg), there was no one there.  That’s when I was hit with the hopeless feeling.  I knew no one in the country and I couldn’t use my phone or the Internet because my apartment doesn’t have it.  My only option was to go to the Internet café closest to school and figure out something to do with the next three days.

My Room

My Room

View from my window; the garden

View from my window; the garden

As I was finishing up my emails and facebook messages letting everyone know I was alive, I heard a friendly American sounding voice asking the clerk, “Sprecken ze English?”  The guy sat down next to me and I asked him if he was American.  He was and he actually would be attending my school and he was in the same situation with not knowing anyone in the country.  His name is Matt and he’s a copywriter.  We hung out all day and I helped him look for a place to live as he was currently homeless.  I passed out around 9pm that night as I had been up for over 36 hours (and it was still light out…it doesn’t get dark here til around 11pm which I am still getting used to)


Actions

Information

Leave a comment