Bremen was lame…BUT Soil and Pimp Sessions was awesome!

18 07 2009

If you read my last post, you would see that I was super excited about going to Bremen.  Things change.  We got up early, eager to tackle Bremen and our client, the GAK.  Unfortunately, it didn’t go as well as planned.  First off, Tobias and I rode with Samentha because she has a car here and it would be cheaper than the train.  She has a GPS but she accidentally put the name of the street in the city field.  SO, long story short, we ended up two hours later in a small farm town in Northern Germany.  Definitely an adventure, to say the least.

We were really lost...

We were really lost...

After we got on the right track, we finally got to Bremen around lunch time.  First we checked out the urban art museum next door because they were letting us in for free for a short time only.  I’m not really into art, but this one had some really cool stuff…take a look:

IMG_0081
IMG_0082
IMG_0085

After visiting the urban art museum, we went next door the see the GAK.  First off, it’s very small and there is very little in there and what is in there is pretty weird.  It’s definitely not for me, but it is for someone, we just have to find them.

After getting back to Hamburg, I met Joe in the Altona district and we went to a concert of a speed, ska, jazz, jam type band he had been telling me about.  Their name is “Soil and Pimp Sessions”.  At first I was a little skeptical, but they were sooo good! One of the better concerts I’ve been to.  Check them out:


Thursday after class, I met with Jon, Tobias, Johan, and Lourenco at the “Platen un Blomen” which is a massive park in Hamburg and had a few beers.  The park is absolutely beautiful with tons of flower arrangements and gardens.  I forgot my camera but I will definitely be going back to take pictures.

After leaving the park, we went to go eat dinner at these German girls flat.  The food was excellent and the scenery wasn’t bad either.  On the way home, Johan was a little drunk so he started free-styling on the train which was a little embarrassing but hilarious.

Friday morning, we had class with Gerrit Kleinfield.  If you knew anything about German advertising, you would think it is a huge deal.  He was won over 50 awards as a creative director including multiple Gold Lions at Cannes.  Class was awesome.  We will have him every Friday and I think that will be my favorite class by far.

And last night I met up with all the guys and we went to a party at this popular bar called Zoe’s close to Sternschanze.  There were a lot of Miami Ad School kids there so it was a great time!


Actions

Information

2 responses

20 07 2009
Lauren

I feel like Megan would enjoy this picture of a tatted up Jesus Christ.

20 07 2009
brianstagner

Yeah I thought of her when I took that haha. There was a lot of stuff there that she would have really liked

Leave a comment