Cool city, Cooler people

11 07 2009

The morning after the Atmosphere concert, I came into class still a little drunk and with very little sleep, but I perked right up when I found out we were getting briefed on our client!  For those of you that listened to me talked about my campaigns class, this semester-long project is quite similar.  We were broken up into 3 teams of 3; I was grouped with Tobias (from Denmark) and Samentha (from Germany) (two very cool people that I like a lot).  Our client is the “Gesellschaft für Aktuelle Kunst” or “The GAK” for short (http://www.gak-bremen.de/).  Translated, it means “Society for Contemporary Art”.  It is a very small exhibition hall in Bremen, Germany (the home of Beck’s beer) with almost no members/visitors and therefore almost no marketing budget.  Our mission is to create a strategic advertising plan that will increase visitors, memberships, and donations.  It will definitely be a challenge due to the poor state they are in and this kind of client is very much out of my element.  BUT, I’m really looking forward to the challenge.  We’re going to Bremen next Wednesday to do some research.

After class, I was completely exhausted from not sleeping the night before.  A few fellow planners were going out to dinner, but I fell asleep on the train so I figured I just needed to go to sleep…which I did for like 12 hours J

On Friday, our class got canceled because our teacher was sick, which was kind of a bummer because we had heard great things about him.  Oh well.  I spent most of the day hanging out, doing errands, and meeting with Tobias and Samentha to talk about our project.  At night, was the “Welcome Party” for all new Miami Ad School students at this bar in the Schanze (same place as the riot).  Before the party, I met up with Jon and we went to Matt and Justin’s apartment and had a little pre-party with some people from school.  We then went to the party and guess what!  There was ANOTHER RIOT going on!  This city is crazy!  Why is the youth so angry?  Luckily, this riot was much smaller and much more confined so we were able to get to the bar without too much trouble.

The bar was a place called Haus 73 and it was kind of a dive bar but I had a great time!  I met a ton of really cool people from all over the world and everyone was super nice.  We were at the bar til about 2 or 3 and I had been hanging out with a bunch of kids from Copenhagen, Denmark, who were all really cool.  Justin and I followed the Danish kids to another bar and had a great time learning about their hometown…I really have to go one of these weekends!

Justin and I left the bar to get some food and we watched the sunrise while enjoying a “Doner”?  In English, they call it a Turkish pizza but it’s basically a wrap with that shaved meat that comes off the big pole with vegetables and this crazy good, hot sauce.  I finally got home around 5 or 6 this morning and hibernated until about 2pm.  I woke up this morning and had brunch across the street at this café and noticed that there is an unlocked router in one of the apartments above the café!!!  SO, I will probably be more available for Skype and responding to emails and what not so that’s good news.  I think we are probably going out again tonight so I will have start resting up.


Actions

Information

2 responses

21 07 2009
Erin

So glad you’re meeting people and so on. Are you speaking English the whole time? Do most Germans/others know English?

22 07 2009
brianstagner

Yes, mostly speaking English…my school is taught in english so pretty much everyone there speaks it well. However most Hamburgers dont speak very good english or even at all

Leave a comment